AI Foundations
AI Foundations is a self-paced online course delivered by OpenAI (OpenAI Academy). It is free, takes about 1.2 hours, and awards a certificate of completion (free).
- Relevance to work
- 2.4 / 3
- Cost and access
- 2 / 2
- Provider
- 1.6 / 2
- Credential
- 1.2 / 1.5
- Currency
- 1.05 / 1.5
- Total
- 8.2 / 10
Provider learner rating: Not published by the provider
Key facts
| Cost | FreeOpenAI states Academy courses are free; a ChatGPT account is required to enrol and save progress. |
|---|---|
| Time | 1.2 hours (provider stated) |
| Level | Beginner |
| Format | self-paced online |
| Prerequisites | A ChatGPT account and a real work task to practise on |
| Credential | certificate of completion (free) |
| Open to | Worldwide |
| Free in | Worldwide |
| Content written for | Any country |
| Last checked | 2026-09-29 |
Topics:AI basics
Things to know
- Uses ChatGPT specifically.
- Badge requires passing an assessment at 80% or higher.
- Lesson-level module titles are only visible after enrolling; the public page lists the course plus its assessment.
- OpenAI says badges and certificates of completion are not certifications and do not guarantee eligibility for a future OpenAI Certification.
Summary
OpenAI's entry-level course on working with AI at work. Learners pick a real task they do often and practise the basics of clear instructions, supplying context, reviewing outputs and responsible use, while learning how large language models and ChatGPT work.
You will be able to
- Explain in plain terms how AI and large language models work
- Give ChatGPT clear instructions and useful context
- Review AI outputs critically and use AI responsibly
- Produce an improved version of a real task you do regularly
Modules
- AI Foundations (course, 1 lesson)
- AI Foundations Assessment (1 lesson; pass mark 80%)
Who it suits
People new to AI, or wanting a firmer base for using it at work; no technical background needed.
Who is behind it
- Delivered by
- OpenAI (OpenAI Academy)
- Hosted on
- OpenAI Academy (academy.openai.com)
- Funded by
- Not stated
- Partners
- Not stated
Related courses
Questions
- Is OpenAI AI Foundations free?
- Yes. It is free as at our last check. OpenAI states Academy courses are free; a ChatGPT account is required to enrol and save progress.
- How long does it take?
- About 1.2 hours (provider stated).
- Do you get a certificate?
- Yes. It awards a certificate of completion, free.
- Who is it for?
- People new to AI, or wanting a firmer base for using it at work; no technical background needed.
- Can I take it from outside Australia?
- Yes. It is open worldwide. It is free in: Worldwide.
Sources
Company names and logos belong to their owners and are used only to identify their courses. ApplyAI is independent and is not endorsed by, affiliated with or paid by any provider. Prices and details are as at the check date; confirm on the provider's site.