Enterprise Design Thinking Practitioner
Enterprise Design Thinking Practitioner is a self-paced online course delivered by IBM SkillsBuild. It is free, the provider does not state how long it takes, and awards a digital badge (Enterprise Design Thinking Practitioner, issued via Credly) (free).
FreeChecked on 29 September 2026
- Relevance to work
- 2.4 / 3
- Cost and access
- 2 / 2
- Provider
- 1.6 / 2
- Credential
- 1.2 / 1.5
- Currency
- 1.05 / 1.5
- Total
- 8.2 / 10
Provider learner rating: Not published by the provider
Key facts
| Cost | FreeIBM's Enterprise Design Thinking page (read 29 Sep 2026) states you can now earn the Practitioner badge for free through IBM SkillsBuild. The Credly badge listing also shows cost as free. The IBM FAQ says the course is open to IBMers and non-IBMers. |
|---|---|
| Time | Time not stated (not stated) |
| Level | Beginner |
| Format | self-paced online |
| Prerequisites | none stated |
| Credential | digital badge (Enterprise Design Thinking Practitioner, issued via Credly) (free) |
| Open to | Worldwide |
| Free in | Worldwide |
| Content written for | Any country |
| Last checked | 2026-09-29 |
Topics:Design and creativity
Things to know
- Course duration and module list are not published on IBM's public pages; the SkillsBuild course page itself is behind a login and could not be read
- The badge requires completing the online course and passing quizzes at 80% or higher (per the Credly badge listing)
- IBM has paused its other Enterprise Design Thinking badges (Co-Creator, Coach, Advocate, Leader, and Team Essentials for AI) while it re-evaluates them; only Practitioner is confirmed available
- IBM's promotional page for the framework was last modified 4 September 2025; no course update date is published
Summary
IBM's foundation course in its Enterprise Design Thinking framework, a practical way for teams to understand users, generate ideas and test them quickly. It suits any worker who helps shape a product, service or process and wants a shared, user-centred way of working.
You will be able to
- Identify the components of the Enterprise Design Thinking framework
- Identify techniques to uncover and explore user needs
- Explain the role of prototyping, ideation and iteration
- Describe the key elements that improve the quality of a team's work
- Apply the principles to create a problem statement
Who it suits
Workers in any role who contribute to designing products, services or processes and want a common user-centred method.
Who is behind it
- Delivered by
- IBM
- Hosted on
- IBM SkillsBuild (skills.yourlearning.ibm.com)
- Funded by
- Not stated
- Partners
- Not stated
Related courses
Questions
- Is Enterprise Design Thinking Practitioner free?
- Yes. It is free for anyone, anywhere in the world. IBM's Enterprise Design Thinking page (read 29 Sep 2026) states you can now earn the Practitioner badge for free through IBM SkillsBuild. The Credly badge listing also shows cost as free. The IBM FAQ says the course is open to IBMers and non-IBMers. Checked 29 September 2026 against the provider's own page.
- How long does it take?
- The provider does not state how long it takes.
- Do you get a certificate?
- Yes. It awards a digital badge (Enterprise Design Thinking Practitioner, issued via Credly), free.
- Who is it for?
- Workers in any role who contribute to designing products, services or processes and want a common user-centred method.
- Can I take it from outside Australia?
- Yes. It is open worldwide. It is free in: Worldwide.
Sources
- https://www.ibm.com/training/enterprise-design-thinking
- https://www.ibm.com/training/enterprise-design-thinking/faq
- https://www.ibm.com/training/enterprise-design-thinking/courses
- https://www.ibm.com/training/badge/enterprise-design-thinking-practitioner
- https://www.credly.com/org/ibm/badge/enterprise-design-thinking-practitioner.1
Company names and logos belong to their owners and are used only to identify their courses. ApplyAI is independent and is not endorsed by, affiliated with or paid by any provider. Prices and details are as at the check date; confirm on the provider's site.