Free design and creativity courses, rated

4 courses, 4 free anywhere in the world, 0 free only in Australia, checked 29 September 2026. 4 courses on design and creativity from 3 providers. The highest rated is Enterprise Design Thinking Practitioner from IBM at 4.1 out of 5.

Courses on design thinking, inclusive design and creative problem solving, skills that matter more as AI produces first drafts.

Top pick

IBM's foundation course in its Enterprise Design Thinking framework, a practical way for teams to understand users, generate ideas and test them quickly.

FreeTime not stated

Top 4 compared

CourseOur ratingCostTimeCredential
Enterprise Design Thinking Practitioner4.1 / 5FreeTime not stateddigital badge (Enterprise Design Thinking Practitioner, issued via Credly) (free)
Making creativity and innovation happen3.9 / 5Free10 hoursstatement of participation (free)
Inclusive design in practice3.8 / 5Free5.7 hoursMicrosoft Learn trophy for the path and badges for each module (free)
Intro to interaction design3.5 / 5Free10 hoursstatement of participation (free)

All 4 courses

Showing 4 of 4

  • IBM

    Enterprise Design Thinking Practitioner

    4.1
    Cost
    Free
    Time
    Time not stated
    Credential
    digital badge (Enterprise Design Thinking Practitioner, issued via Credly) (free)
    FreeFree IBM badgeBig-company frameworkBeginner friendly

    IBM's foundation course in its Enterprise Design Thinking framework, a practical way for teams to understand users, generate ideas and test them quickly. It suits any worker who helps shape a product, service or process and wants a shared, user-centred way of working.

  • The Open University

    Making creativity and innovation happen

    3.9
    Cost
    Free
    Time
    10 hours
    Credential
    statement of participation (free)
    FreeUniversity content10 hoursFree statement of participation

    A course on how individual creativity works and how teams and organisations can encourage or block new ideas, adapted from an Open University postgraduate module. It helps workers build their own creative confidence and helps managers create conditions for innovation.

  • Microsoft

    Inclusive design in practice

    3.8
    Cost
    Free
    Time
    5.7 hours
    Credential
    Microsoft Learn trophy for the path and badges for each module (free)
    FreeMicrosoft trophyUnder 6 hoursAccessibility focus

    A five-module Microsoft path, built with Teach Access, on designing and testing digital products that people with disabilities can use, covering keyboard access, screen readers, colour contrast and responsive layouts. It suits designers, developers, product owners and content creators who need practical accessibility skills.

  • The Open University

    Intro to interaction design

    3.5
    Cost
    Free
    Time
    10 hours
    Credential
    statement of participation (free)
    FreeUniversity content10 hoursFree statement of participation

    A university-level introduction to how interactive products such as apps, websites and business systems are designed to give people a good user experience. It helps anyone who specifies, buys, tests or builds digital tools understand user-centred design and how to critique a design.

Questions

How many free design and creativity courses are there?
4 of the 4 design and creativity courses we rate are fully free, as at our last check.
Which is the quickest?
Inclusive design in practice from Microsoft, at about 5.7 hours.
Which gives a free certificate?
4 courses give a free certificate. The highest rated are Enterprise Design Thinking Practitioner, Making creativity and innovation happen, Inclusive design in practice.

Company names and logos belong to their owners and are used only to identify their courses. ApplyAI is independent and is not endorsed by, affiliated with or paid by any provider. Prices and details are as at the check date; confirm on the provider's site.