Agents and Workflows
Agents and Workflows is a self-paced online course delivered by OpenAI (OpenAI Academy). It is free, takes about 1.5 hours, and awards a certificate of completion (free).
- Relevance to work
- 2.4 / 3
- Cost and access
- 2 / 2
- Provider
- 1.6 / 2
- Credential
- 1.2 / 1.5
- Currency
- 1.05 / 1.5
- Total
- 8.2 / 10
Provider learner rating: Not published by the provider
Key facts
| Cost | FreeOpenAI states Academy courses are free; a ChatGPT account is required to enrol and save progress. |
|---|---|
| Time | 1.5 hours (provider stated) |
| Level | Intermediate |
| Format | self-paced online |
| Prerequisites | A ChatGPT account with access to agent capabilities and a real work task; AI Foundations and Applied AI Foundations recommended first |
| Credential | certificate of completion (free) |
| Open to | Worldwide |
| Free in | Worldwide |
| Content written for | Any country |
| Last checked | 2026-09-29 |
Topics:Agents and workflows
Things to know
- Needs access to ChatGPT agent capabilities, which may depend on your ChatGPT plan.
- A downloadable practice file is required during the course.
- Badge requires passing an assessment at 80% or higher.
- Lesson-level module titles are only visible after enrolling; the public page lists the course plus its assessment.
- OpenAI says badges and certificates of completion are not certifications and do not guarantee eligibility for a future OpenAI Certification.
Summary
Teaches how to direct AI agents on more structured, multi-step work. It focuses on giving agents context, defining what good output looks like, setting boundaries, checking results and improving the workflow over time.
You will be able to
- Give an agent the context and clear output definition it needs
- Set boundaries on what an agent may do
- Review agent results and catch problems
- Improve an agent-assisted workflow over successive runs
Modules
- Agents and Workflows (course, 1 lesson)
- Agents and Workflows Assessment (1 lesson; pass mark 80%)
Who it suits
Professionals comfortable using AI for individual tasks who want to move to agent-assisted workflows.
Who is behind it
- Delivered by
- OpenAI (OpenAI Academy)
- Hosted on
- OpenAI Academy (academy.openai.com)
- Funded by
- Not stated
- Partners
- Not stated
Related courses
Questions
- Is Agents and Workflows free?
- Yes. It is free as at our last check. OpenAI states Academy courses are free; a ChatGPT account is required to enrol and save progress.
- How long does it take?
- About 1.5 hours (provider stated).
- Do you get a certificate?
- Yes. It awards a certificate of completion, free.
- Who is it for?
- Professionals comfortable using AI for individual tasks who want to move to agent-assisted workflows.
- Can I take it from outside Australia?
- Yes. It is open worldwide. It is free in: Worldwide.
Sources
- https://academy.openai.com/public/courses/agents-and-workflows-bieml
- https://academy.openai.com/public/courses
- https://help.openai.com/en/articles/20001270-openai-academy-courses
- https://academy.openai.com/public/courses/agents-and-workflows-y0qoc
- https://openai.com/index/academy-courses-applying-ai-at-work/
Company names and logos belong to their owners and are used only to identify their courses. ApplyAI is independent and is not endorsed by, affiliated with or paid by any provider. Prices and details are as at the check date; confirm on the provider's site.