Applied AI Foundations
Applied AI Foundations is a self-paced online course delivered by OpenAI (OpenAI Academy). It is free, takes about 1.3 hours, and awards a certificate of completion (free).
- Relevance to work
- 3 / 3
- Cost and access
- 2 / 2
- Provider
- 1.6 / 2
- Credential
- 1.2 / 1.5
- Currency
- 1.05 / 1.5
- Total
- 8.8 / 10
Provider learner rating: Not published by the provider
Key facts
| Cost | FreeOpenAI states Academy courses are free; a ChatGPT account is required to enrol and save progress. |
|---|---|
| Time | 1.3 hours (provider stated) |
| Level | Intermediate |
| Format | self-paced online |
| Prerequisites | A ChatGPT account and a real work task; AI Foundations recommended first |
| Credential | certificate of completion (free) |
| Open to | Worldwide |
| Free in | Worldwide |
| Content written for | Any country |
| Last checked | 2026-09-29 |
Topics:Everyday use and promptingAgents and workflows
Things to know
- Uses ChatGPT specifically.
- Course is about 80 minutes; the full learning path with assessment is listed at 1h 50m.
- Badge requires passing an assessment at 80% or higher.
- Lesson-level module titles are only visible after enrolling; the public page lists the course plus its assessment.
- OpenAI says badges and certificates of completion are not certifications and do not guarantee eligibility for a future OpenAI Certification.
Summary
The step after AI Foundations: learners take a workflow they repeat, break it into steps, find where AI adds value and build a practical plan to use AI across that process, turning one-off prompts into repeatable workflows.
You will be able to
- Map a recurring piece of work into clear steps
- Identify which steps AI can help with and which need a person
- Turn useful prompts into a repeatable workflow
- Build a practical plan for using AI across a real process
Modules
- Applied AI Foundations (course, 1 lesson)
- Applied AI Foundations Assessment (1 lesson; pass mark 80%)
Who it suits
People who already use AI a little and want to apply it consistently to their regular work.
Who is behind it
- Delivered by
- OpenAI (OpenAI Academy)
- Hosted on
- OpenAI Academy (academy.openai.com)
- Funded by
- Not stated
- Partners
- Not stated
Compared with
Related courses
Questions
- Is Applied AI Foundations free?
- Yes. It is free as at our last check. OpenAI states Academy courses are free; a ChatGPT account is required to enrol and save progress.
- How long does it take?
- About 1.3 hours (provider stated).
- Do you get a certificate?
- Yes. It awards a certificate of completion, free.
- Who is it for?
- People who already use AI a little and want to apply it consistently to their regular work.
- Can I take it from outside Australia?
- Yes. It is open worldwide. It is free in: Worldwide.
Sources
- https://academy.openai.com/public/courses/applied-ai-foundations-hgk7r
- https://academy.openai.com/public/courses
- https://help.openai.com/en/articles/20001270-openai-academy-courses
- https://academy.openai.com/public/courses/applied-ai-foundations-szsmv
- https://openai.com/index/academy-courses-applying-ai-at-work/
Company names and logos belong to their owners and are used only to identify their courses. ApplyAI is independent and is not endorsed by, affiliated with or paid by any provider. Prices and details are as at the check date; confirm on the provider's site.