Google

Google Prompting Essentials

Google Prompting Essentials is a self-paced online course delivered by Google on Coursera. It costs about A$70 a month, takes about 6 hours, and awards a certificate of completion (included in subscription).

Our rating2.8How we rate courses
Relevance to work
1.8 / 3
Cost and access
0.6 / 2
Provider
1.6 / 2
Credential
0.6 / 1.5
Currency
1.05 / 1.5
Total
5.6 / 10

Provider learner rating: 4.8 out of 5 from 8071 ratings on Coursera specialisation page, as at 2026-09-29

Key facts

CostAbout A$70 a monthUS$49 per month after a 7-day free trial (about A$70 per month; USD to AUD at 1.425 (open.er-api.com, 29 Sep 2026)). Coursera says prices vary by country and it cannot be audited for free; financial aid is available. Most learners should finish within one month.
Time6 hours (provider stated)
LevelBeginner
Formatself-paced online
Prerequisitesnone
Credentialcertificate of completion (included in subscription)
Open toWorldwide
Free inNot stated
Content written forUnited States
Last checked2026-09-29

Topics:Everyday use and prompting

Google certificateUnder 10 hoursNo tech background neededPaid subscription

Things to know

  • Coursera subscription required; no free audit
  • USD pricing; AUD is an estimate
  • Tool-agnostic but examples are US-centric

Summary

A four-course Google series focused only on prompting. It teaches a five-step method for writing prompts and applies it to everyday tasks such as email, data analysis, building presentations and using AI as a thinking partner.

You will be able to

  • Use a repeatable five-step method to write prompts
  • Apply prompting to common work tasks such as writing and planning
  • Use prompts to speed up data analysis and slide building
  • Use AI as a creative collaborator or simulated expert

Modules

  1. Start Writing Prompts like a Pro
  2. Design Prompts for Everyday Work Tasks
  3. Speed Up Data Analysis and Presentation Building
  4. Use AI as a Creative or Expert Partner

Who it suits

Workers who already use AI chat tools and want more reliable results from their prompts.

Who is behind it

Delivered by
Google
Hosted on
Coursera
Funded by
Not stated
Partners
Not stated

Related courses

Questions

Is Google Prompting Essentials free?
No. It costs about A$70 a month as at our last check. US$49 per month after a 7-day free trial (about A$70 per month; USD to AUD at 1.425 (open.er-api.com, 29 Sep 2026)). Coursera says prices vary by country and it cannot be audited for free; financial aid is available. Most learners should finish within one month.
How long does it take?
About 6 hours (provider stated).
Do you get a certificate?
Yes. It awards a certificate of completion, included in subscription.
Who is it for?
Workers who already use AI chat tools and want more reliable results from their prompts.
Can I take it from outside Australia?
Yes. It is open worldwide. It is free in: Not stated.
Go to course (opens in a new tab)

Sources

Company names and logos belong to their owners and are used only to identify their courses. ApplyAI is independent and is not endorsed by, affiliated with or paid by any provider. Prices and details are as at the check date; confirm on the provider's site.