Prompt Engineering for ChatGPT
Prompt Engineering for ChatGPT is a self-paced online course delivered by Vanderbilt University on Coursera. It costs about A$84 a month, takes about 20 hours, and awards a certificate of completion (paid (Coursera enrolment or Coursera Plus)).
- Relevance to work
- 1.8 / 3
- Cost and access
- 1 / 2
- Provider
- 2 / 2
- Credential
- 0.6 / 1.5
- Currency
- 1.05 / 1.5
- Total
- 6.4 / 10
Provider learner rating: 4.8 out of 5 from 8174 ratings on Coursera course page, as at 2026-09-29
Key facts
| Cost | About A$84 a monthFree first-module preview. Full course and certificate via paid enrolment or Coursera Plus. Coursera Plus is US$59 a month (7-day free trial) or US$399 a year, about A$84 or A$568. Financial aid available. AUD estimate at A$1 = US$0.70 (28 Sep 2026) |
|---|---|
| Time | 20 hours (provider stated) |
| Level | Beginner |
| Format | self-paced online |
| Prerequisites | none |
| Credential | certificate of completion (paid (Coursera enrolment or Coursera Plus)) |
| Open to | Worldwide |
| Free in | Not stated |
| Content written for | Any country |
| Last checked | 2026-09-29 |
Topics:Everyday use and prompting
Things to know
- Only the first module is free since Coursera ended audit in August 2025
- Focuses on ChatGPT, though patterns carry over to other tools
- Coursera's 20 hours is an estimate (2 weeks at 10 hours)
Summary
A practical, highly rated university course on writing better prompts for ChatGPT and similar tools. It teaches reusable prompt patterns and examples you can apply straight away to everyday work tasks.
You will be able to
- Write clear prompts that get more useful answers from AI chat tools
- Use named prompt patterns to handle common tasks
- Give examples in a prompt to steer output (few-shot prompting)
- Chain prompts together for more complex work
Modules
- Course Introduction
- Introduction to Prompts
- Prompt Patterns I
- Few-Shot Examples
- Prompt Patterns II
- Prompt Patterns III
Who it suits
Professionals who already use AI chat tools and want to get consistently better results from them.
Who is behind it
- Delivered by
- Vanderbilt University (instructor Dr Jules White)
- Hosted on
- Coursera
- Funded by
- Not stated
- Partners
- Not stated
Related courses
Questions
- Is Prompt Engineering for ChatGPT free?
- No. It costs about A$84 a month as at our last check. Free first-module preview. Full course and certificate via paid enrolment or Coursera Plus. Coursera Plus is US$59 a month (7-day free trial) or US$399 a year, about A$84 or A$568. Financial aid available. AUD estimate at A$1 = US$0.70 (28 Sep 2026)
- How long does it take?
- About 20 hours (provider stated).
- Do you get a certificate?
- Yes. It awards a certificate of completion, paid (Coursera enrolment or Coursera Plus).
- Who is it for?
- Professionals who already use AI chat tools and want to get consistently better results from them.
- Can I take it from outside Australia?
- Yes. It is open worldwide. It is free in: Not stated.
Sources
Company names and logos belong to their owners and are used only to identify their courses. ApplyAI is independent and is not endorsed by, affiliated with or paid by any provider. Prices and details are as at the check date; confirm on the provider's site.