AI for education
AI for education is a self-paced online course delivered by Khan Academy. It is free, the provider does not state how long it takes, and does not award a credential.
- Relevance to work
- 1.2 / 3
- Cost and access
- 2 / 2
- Provider
- 1.7 / 2
- Credential
- 0.3 / 1.5
- Currency
- 1.05 / 1.5
- Total
- 6.2 / 10
Provider learner rating: Not published by the provider
Key facts
| Cost | FreeFree. |
|---|---|
| Time | Time not stated (provider stated) |
| Level | Beginner |
| Format | self-paced online |
| Prerequisites | none |
| Credential | No credential |
| Open to | Worldwide |
| Free in | Worldwide |
| Content written for | Any country |
| Last checked | 2026-09-29 |
Topics:AI basics
Things to know
- Aimed at educators, so less relevant for general business roles
- Provider describes it as a work in progress
- No stated duration and no certificate confirmed for this course
- Unit list confirmed from Khan Academy search listings as the page renders with JavaScript
Summary
A free, short course from the non-profit Khan Academy on how generative AI works, its risks and how to use it responsibly, built around teaching and learning. It includes Code.org videos explaining AI basics.
You will be able to
- Understand in simple terms how AI and large language models work
- Recognise the benefits and risks of generative AI
- Prepare to use AI responsibly in teaching or training
- Help others build basic AI literacy
Modules
- Getting started with generative AI
- Getting ready to teach with AI
- Lesson plans: AI literacy
Who it suits
Teachers, trainers, L&D staff and parents who want a gentle, free introduction to generative AI.
Who is behind it
- Delivered by
- Khan Academy
- Hosted on
- Khan Academy (khanacademy.org)
- Funded by
- Not stated
- Partners
- Code.org, ETS and ISTE (co-presented the 'AI 101 for teachers' video series in Unit 2); Common Sense Education (Unit 3 AI literacy lesson plans developed with them)
Related courses
Questions
- Is AI for education free?
- Yes. It is free as at our last check. Free.
- How long does it take?
- The provider does not state how long it takes.
- Do you get a certificate?
- No. It does not award a credential.
- Who is it for?
- Teachers, trainers, L&D staff and parents who want a gentle, free introduction to generative AI.
- Can I take it from outside Australia?
- Yes. It is open worldwide. It is free in: Worldwide.
Sources
- https://www.khanacademy.org/college-careers-more/ai-for-education
- https://www.khanacademy.org/college-careers-more/ai-for-education/x68ea37461197a514:ai-for-education-unit-1
- https://support.khanacademy.org/hc/en-us/articles/21720997017613-I-m-a-teacher-where-can-I-learn-more-about-how-to-use-Khanmigo-and-Artificial-Intelligence-in-my-classroom
Company names and logos belong to their owners and are used only to identify their courses. ApplyAI is independent and is not endorsed by, affiliated with or paid by any provider. Prices and details are as at the check date; confirm on the provider's site.