Free AI courses you can take worldwide

44 courses open worldwide from 16 providers. The highest rated is Elements of AI from University of Helsinki at 4.6 out of 5.

Top pick
Elements of AIUniversity of Helsinki4.6

A plain-language introduction to what AI is, how it solves problems and how machine learning and neural networks work, with no programming or heavy maths.

Free36 hours

Top 5 compared

CourseOur ratingCostTimeCredential
Elements of AI4.6 / 5Free36 hourscertificate of completion (free)
Applied AI Foundations4.4 / 5Free1.3 hourscertificate of completion (free)
Google AI Essentials4.4 / 5Free2.25 hourscertificate of completion (free on Google Skills; included in Coursera subscription)
Working in teams4.4 / 5Free24 hoursdigital badge (Credly etc) (free)
Developing career resilience4.4 / 5Free24 hoursdigital badge (Credly etc) (free)

All 44 courses

Showing 44 of 44

  • University of Helsinki

    Elements of AI

    4.6
    Cost
    Free
    Time
    36 hours
    Credential
    certificate of completion (free)
    Free certificateNo tech background neededUniversity backedOver 2 million learners

    A plain-language introduction to what AI is, how it solves problems and how machine learning and neural networks work, with no programming or heavy maths. It closes by looking at what AI means for jobs and society. One of the most widely taken free AI courses in the world.

  • OpenAI

    Applied AI Foundations

    4.4
    Cost
    Free
    Time
    1.3 hours
    Credential
    certificate of completion (free)
    FreeFree certificateFree digital badge (Accredible) after passing assessmentUnder 2 hours

    The step after AI Foundations: learners take a workflow they repeat, break it into steps, find where AI adds value and build a practical plan to use AI across that process, turning one-off prompts into repeatable workflows.

  • Google

    Google AI Essentials

    4.4
    Cost
    Free
    Time
    2.25 hours
    Credential
    certificate of completion (free on Google Skills; included in Coursera subscription)
    Free on Google SkillsGoogle certificateNo tech background neededCoursera version costs extra

    Google's entry-level course on using generative AI tools at work: generating ideas, researching, drafting and speeding up routine tasks. It also covers prompting basics and how to spot bias and other risks. The same course is sold on Coursera, but Google now offers it at no cost on its own Google Skills platform.

  • The Open University

    Working in teams

    4.4
    Cost
    Free
    Time
    24 hours
    Credential
    digital badge (Credly etc) (free)
    Free Open University digital badge24 CPD pointsCPD Standards Office accreditedUniversity backed

    An eight-week course on what makes teams work, including virtual teams, team roles, communication and diversity. It finishes with how to talk about your teamwork experience with employers. Completion earns an Open University badge and 24 CPD points.

  • The Open University

    Developing career resilience

    4.4
    Cost
    Free
    Time
    24 hours
    Credential
    digital badge (Credly etc) (free)
    Free Open University digital badge24 CPD pointsCPD Standards Office accreditedUniversity backed

    An eight-week course, about three hours a week, on building the resilience to handle change and setbacks at work. You assess your own resilience, look at outside pressures on careers and set practical goals. Completion earns an Open University badge and 24 CPD points.

  • Anthropic

    Anthropic AI Fluency

    4.4
    Cost
    Free
    Time
    Time not stated
    Credential
    certificate of completion (free)
    FreeFree certificateNo tech background neededTool-neutral framework

    Anthropic's flagship tool-neutral course on working well with AI, built with academics from University College Cork and Ringling College. It teaches the 4D Framework (Delegation, Description, Discernment, Diligence) plus a grounding in how generative AI works and effective prompting.

  • Microsoft

    Build Foundational Generative AI Skills

    4.3
    Cost
    Free
    Time
    2.3 hours
    Credential
    certificate of completion (free)
    FreeUnder 3 hoursBusiness usersUpdated September 2026

    A short path for business users on the basics of generative AI and responsible use, followed by practical work in Microsoft 365 Copilot Chat. It covers how to write better prompts and how to use Copilot Chat safely inside a work account.

  • Microsoft

    Draft, Analyse and Present with Copilot

    4.3
    Cost
    Free
    Time
    4.3 hours
    Credential
    certificate of completion (free)
    FreeHands-on across Word, Excel, PowerPoint, Outlook and TeamsUnder 5 hours

    An app-by-app walk through of Copilot inside Word, Excel, PowerPoint, Outlook and Teams, plus Copilot Chat. Each module focuses on a common work task such as drafting a document, summarising a meeting or analysing a spreadsheet.

  • Amazon Web Services

    Generative AI for Decision Makers

    4.3
    Cost
    Free
    Time
    3 hours
    Credential
    certificate of completion (free)
    Free3 hoursFor decision makersFundamental level

    A three-hour AWS plan for business and technical leaders covering what generative AI can do, how to plan a generative AI project and how to prepare an organisation for it. It is strategy-focused and light on hands-on tool use.

  • University of Helsinki

    Ethics of AI

    4.3
    Cost
    Free
    Time
    Time not stated
    Credential
    certificate of completion (free)
    Free certificateNo tech background neededUniversity backed2 ECTS credits (Finland only)

    A free university course that works through the big ethical questions raised by AI, such as who is accountable when AI causes harm, how transparent systems should be, and what fairness means. Each chapter pairs short readings with written exercises that are peer reviewed.

  • The Open University

    Digital Thinking Tools for Better Decisions

    4.2
    Cost
    Free
    Time
    24 hours
    Credential
    digital badge (Credly etc) (free)
    Free Open University digital badge24 CPD pointsCPD Standards Office accreditedUniversity backed

    An eight-session course on using digital tools, from spreadsheets to argument maps, to reason more clearly and make better choices. It ends by linking these thinking tools to modern AI. Completion earns an Open University badge and 24 CPD points.

  • Anthropic

    Claude 101

    4.1
    Cost
    Free
    Time
    Time not stated
    Credential
    certificate of completion (free)
    FreeFree certificateNo tech background neededVendor product training

    A practical starting course on using Claude for everyday work. It walks through a first conversation, getting better answers, and the main features such as projects, artifacts, skills, connected tools and research, then shows role-based examples.

  • Anthropic

    AI Fluency for Small Businesses

    4.1
    Cost
    Free
    Time
    Time not stated
    Credential
    certificate of completion (free)
    FreeFree certificateNo tech background neededSmall business focus

    Applies the 4D AI Fluency Framework to everyday small business work such as customer interactions, back-office tasks and operations. Built with PayPal and small business partners, it covers refining work with AI, being transparent about AI use and keeping a human in the loop.

  • OpenAI

    Agents and Workflows

    4.1
    Cost
    Free
    Time
    1.5 hours
    Credential
    certificate of completion (free)
    FreeFree certificateFree digital badge (Accredible) after passing assessmentNo coding

    Teaches how to direct AI agents on more structured, multi-step work. It focuses on giving agents context, defining what good output looks like, setting boundaries, checking results and improving the workflow over time.

  • OpenAI

    AI Leadership

    4.1
    Cost
    Free
    Time
    3 hours
    Credential
    digital badge (Credly etc) (free)
    FreeFree digital badge (Accredible) after passing assessmentLeadership and strategyProduces a draft AI strategy

    A leader-focused course that works through a single AI initiative from business priority to adoption. Learners produce a first-draft AI strategy covering ownership, governance, a roadmap and adoption plan, and practise judging whether the evidence supports moving forward.

  • Google

    Google Workspace with Gemini

    4.1
    Cost
    Free
    Time
    5.5 hours
    Credential
    digital badge (Credly etc) (free)
    FreeBite-sized 30-minute coursesGoogle badgesUpdated September 2026

    Eleven 30-minute courses showing how Gemini works inside Gmail, Docs, Sheets, Slides, Meet, Chat, Drive, Vids and the Gemini app. Each is short enough to take on its own, so staff can learn just the app they use most.

  • IBM

    AI Literacy

    4.1
    Cost
    Free
    Time
    4 hours
    Credential
    digital badge (Credly etc) (free)
    Free badgeNo tech background needed4 hoursAvailable in 12 languages

    A short, plain-language IBM introduction to how AI learns, how people and AI can work together, and the benefits, risks and ethics involved. It finishes with a hands-on task guiding an AI assistant through a simple business problem.

  • Anthropic

    AI Capabilities and Limitations

    4.1
    Cost
    Free
    Time
    Time not stated
    Credential
    No credential
    FreeNo tech background neededPairs with AI Fluency: Framework & Foundations

    An introductory course that explains why generative AI behaves the way it does, as a companion to the AI Fluency framework. It covers next token prediction, knowledge, working memory and steerability, with hands-on try-it activities, so learners can diagnose odd outputs and fix them.

  • OpenAI

    OpenAI AI Foundations

    4.1
    Cost
    Free
    Time
    1.2 hours
    Credential
    certificate of completion (free)
    FreeFree certificateFree digital badge (Accredible) after passing assessmentUnder 2 hours

    OpenAI's entry-level course on working with AI at work. Learners pick a real task they do often and practise the basics of clear instructions, supplying context, reviewing outputs and responsible use, while learning how large language models and ChatGPT work.

  • Microsoft

    Enhance business workflows with AI

    4.0
    Cost
    Free
    Time
    4.5 hours
    Credential
    certificate of completion (Path free; certification exam US$99 (about A$141))
    Free pathLeads to a Microsoft certificationNo codingUpdated September 2026

    The self-paced study path for Microsoft's AI Business Professional certification, aimed at non-technical staff. It covers drafting content, analysing data, running meetings and handing multi-step work to Copilot agents. Learners can stop at the free path or sit a 45-minute proctored exam for a formal Microsoft certification.

  • Microsoft

    Microsoft AI Fluency

    4.0
    Cost
    Free
    Time
    4.6 hours
    Credential
    certificate of completion (free)
    FreeNo tech background neededUnder 5 hoursMicrosoft Learn trophy on completion

    A seven-module Microsoft Learn path that starts with what AI is and how generative AI works, then moves to smarter web searching, responsible use and everyday use of Microsoft Copilot. It was built under Microsoft's philanthropy programme, so some examples lean towards nonprofit work, but the content suits any beginner.

  • Anthropic

    AI Fluency for nonprofits

    3.9
    Cost
    Free
    Time
    Time not stated
    Credential
    certificate of completion (free)
    FreeFree certificateNo tech background neededNonprofit focus

    A version of the AI Fluency course shaped for nonprofit staff, developed with GivingTuesday. It applies the 4D Framework to research, writing, data analysis and workflow design, with attention to privacy and mission alignment.

  • Anthropic

    AI Fluency for Creative Work

    3.9
    Cost
    Free
    Time
    Time not stated
    Credential
    certificate of completion (free)
    FreeFree certificateNo tech background neededCreative industries focus

    Helps writers, designers, illustrators, musicians and other makers decide whether, where and how AI belongs in their practice. It starts from a no-AI baseline and adds two lenses (creative value and production) alongside the 4D Framework, with a focus on authorship and distinctiveness.

  • OpenAI

    Scope AI Solutions

    3.9
    Cost
    Free
    Time
    45 minutes
    Credential
    digital badge (Credly etc) (free)
    FreeUnder 1 hourNo codingBusiness case and scoping

    A short course on spotting AI opportunities in real workflows and deciding which are worth pursuing. Learners weigh likely benefit against implementation effort and write a clear problem statement and solution plan for the strongest idea.

  • Google

    Introduction to Generative AI (Google)

    3.9
    Cost
    Free
    Time
    4.75 hours
    Credential
    digital badge (Credly etc) (free)
    FreeGoogle skill badgesUnder 5 hoursShort micro-courses

    A four-part Google Cloud path that explains what generative AI and large language models are, how prompting works and how to apply responsible AI principles. It is conceptual rather than tool training, which makes it a neutral primer before picking a specific product.

  • IBM

    Artificial Intelligence Fundamentals

    3.9
    Cost
    Free
    Time
    10 hours
    Credential
    digital badge (Credly etc) (free)
    Free badge10+ hoursWell-known IBM credentialAvailable in 12 languages

    IBM's longer foundation credential covering the main branches of AI, including language processing, computer vision, machine learning, chatbots and neural networks, plus ethics and AI career paths. It suits someone who wants to understand how AI works under the hood rather than just use tools.

  • Google

    Generative AI Leader Certification

    3.8
    Cost
    Free
    Time
    7.75 hours
    Credential
    digital badge (Credly etc) (Path badges free; certification exam US$99 (about A$141))
    Free pathLeads to a Google Cloud certificationNon-technicalAimed at leaders

    A five-course path for managers and decision makers on what generative AI can do for an organisation, how to choose between tools and how agents may change work. It prepares learners for Google Cloud's non-technical Generative AI Leader certification but is useful without sitting the exam.

  • DeepLearning.AI

    AI For Everyone

    3.8
    Cost
    Free
    Time
    7 hours
    Credential
    certificate of completion (US$49 on Coursera (about A$70), or DeepLearning.AI PRO)
    No tech background neededUnder 8 hoursOver 2.6 million learners on CourseraCertificate costs extra

    Andrew Ng's non-technical course on what AI can and cannot do, how AI projects run and how a company can build its AI capability. It is the most widely taken business-focused AI primer and suits managers who need to spot sensible AI opportunities.

  • DeepLearning.AI

    Generative AI for Everyone

    3.8
    Cost
    Free
    Time
    6 hours
    Credential
    certificate of completion (paid (DeepLearning.AI PRO or Coursera))
    No tech background neededUnder 8 hoursFree on deeplearning.aiCertificate costs extra

    A short, non-technical course from Andrew Ng on how generative AI works, what it is good and bad at, and how to use it in everyday work and business projects. It also covers the risks and wider effects on jobs and society.

  • Anthropic

    Introduction to Claude Cowork

    3.5
    Cost
    Free
    Time
    Time not stated
    Credential
    No credential
    FreeHands-onMicrosoft 365 and Chrome coverageVendor product training

    A hands-on course on having Claude work directly with your files, folders and apps to produce real outputs. It covers running a first task, giving Claude standing context through instructions, projects, skills and plugins, using Claude in Chrome and Microsoft 365, and safe habits for sharing multi-step work.

  • Anthropic

    Deploying Claude Enterprise

    3.5
    Cost
    Free
    Time
    Time not stated
    Credential
    No credential
    FreeRollout planningGovernance and spend controlsVendor product training

    A course for whoever is rolling out Claude Enterprise in an organisation. It works through five linked configuration decisions (structure and identity, access, governance, spend and visibility) using a fictional company, and builds a rollout plan as you go.

  • Anthropic

    Claude Code 101

    3.5
    Cost
    Free
    Time
    Time not stated
    Credential
    No credential
    Free courseDeveloper-onlyHands-on

    A developer course on Anthropic's AI coding agent, from installation to customisation. It covers how the agent loop works, a structured explore, plan, code and commit workflow, context management and extending Claude Code with CLAUDE.md files, subagents, skills, MCP and hooks.

  • Amazon Web Services

    AWS AI Practitioner Learning Plan

    3.5
    Cost
    Free
    Time
    8 hours
    Credential
    certificate of completion (Completion certificate free; certification exam US$100 (about A$143))
    Free trainingLeads to an AWS certificationCertification valid 3 yearsSome technical content

    AWS's foundation plan covering AI, machine learning and generative AI concepts, real use cases, responsible AI, prompting and governance. It is more technical than the decision-maker plan and prepares learners for the AWS Certified AI Practitioner exam, which is open to business roles.

  • The Open University

    Making decisions

    3.5
    Cost
    Free
    Time
    4 hours
    Credential
    statement of participation (free)
    Under 5 hoursFree statement of participationUniversity backedCan start without signing up

    A short course that looks at how people and groups actually make decisions, comparing the rational economic model with psychological and sociological views. It also covers how people perceive risk and what can be done to improve decision making at work.

  • MIT OpenCourseWare

    AI 101 (MIT)

    3.5
    Cost
    Free
    Time
    Time not stated
    Credential
    No credential
    FreeNo sign-upNo coding neededUniversity backed

    A recorded MIT workshop that introduces AI to people with little or no background, covering machine vision, data preparation and reinforcement learning. It includes a hands-on activity where you train a simple algorithm yourself.

  • University of Michigan

    Mindware: Critical Thinking

    3.5
    Cost
    About A$84 a month
    Time
    10 hours
    Credential
    certificate of completion (paid (Coursera enrolment or Coursera Plus))
    University backedHuman skillsAbout 10 hoursCertificate costs extra

    Psychologist Richard Nisbett teaches the everyday statistics, logic and awareness of bias needed to think clearly about evidence. Well suited to judging AI outputs, data claims and business decisions with a sceptical eye.

  • Infoxchange

    Responsible AI for NFPs

    3.4
    Cost
    Free
    Time
    20 minutes
    Credential
    No credential
    FreeUnder 1 hourNot-for-profit focusAligned to the Guidance for AI Adoption

    A 20-minute self-paced module that turns Australian Government responsible AI guidance into everyday steps for not-for-profit staff and volunteers. Its core rule is that the more an AI tool affects people, the more human oversight it needs.

  • fast.ai

    Practical Deep Learning for Coders

    3.4
    Cost
    Free
    Time
    13.5 hours
    Credential
    No credential
    FreeTechnicalRecorded at the University of QueenslandHands-on

    The one technical pick: a free, highly regarded hands-on course that teaches coders to build and deploy deep learning models from the first lesson. It was recorded at the University of Queensland and favours practical results over theory.

  • Deep Teaching Solutions

    Learning How to Learn

    3.3
    Cost
    About A$84 a month
    Time
    20 hours
    Credential
    certificate of completion (paid (Coursera enrolment or Coursera Plus))
    Over 4 million learnersNo prerequisitesHuman skillsCertificate costs extra

    One of the most popular online courses ever, teaching evidence-based techniques for learning new skills faster and beating procrastination. Useful for anyone who needs to keep reskilling as AI changes their job.

  • Vanderbilt University

    Prompt Engineering for ChatGPT

    3.2
    Cost
    About A$84 a month
    Time
    20 hours
    Credential
    certificate of completion (paid (Coursera enrolment or Coursera Plus))
    University backedNo coding neededHands-onCertificate costs extra

    A practical, highly rated university course on writing better prompts for ChatGPT and similar tools. It teaches reusable prompt patterns and examples you can apply straight away to everyday work tasks.

  • OpenAI

    OpenAI Academy Events

    3.1
    Cost
    Free
    Time
    1 hour
    Credential
    No credential
    FreeLive onlineAbout 1 hour per sessionReplays for some sessions

    A rolling calendar of livestreams, virtual office hours and some US in-person workshops run by OpenAI and partners. Upcoming sessions at 29 September 2026 include ChatGPT 101 for government professionals, repeatable AI workflows for nonprofit fundraisers, measuring the return on LLMs, and using ChatGPT for performance reviews, with replays posted for some past sessions.

  • Khan Academy

    AI for education

    3.1
    Cost
    Free
    Time
    Time not stated
    Credential
    No credential
    FreeNon-profit providerNo tech background neededShort

    A free, short course from the non-profit Khan Academy on how generative AI works, its risks and how to use it responsibly, built around teaching and learning. It includes Code.org videos explaining AI basics.

  • Google

    Google Prompting Essentials

    2.8
    Cost
    About A$70 a month
    Time
    6 hours
    Credential
    certificate of completion (included in subscription)
    Google certificateUnder 10 hoursNo tech background neededPaid subscription

    A four-course Google series focused only on prompting. It teaches a five-step method for writing prompts and applies it to everyday tasks such as email, data analysis, building presentations and using AI as a thinking partner.

  • Google

    Google AI Professional Certificate

    2.8
    Cost
    About A$70 a month
    Time
    14 hours
    Credential
    certificate of completion (included in subscription)
    Google certificate20+ hands-on activitiesPaid subscriptionIncludes 3-month Google AI Pro trial (limited time)

    Google's newer, broader follow-on to AI Essentials, made up of eight short courses built around hands-on work projects. It covers using Gemini for research, writing, content, data analysis and even building simple apps without code.

Questions

How many free courses open worldwide are there?
39 of the 44 courses open worldwide we rate are fully free, as at our last check.
Which is the quickest?
Responsible AI for NFPs from Infoxchange, at about 20 minutes.
Which gives a free certificate?
25 courses give a free certificate. The highest rated are Elements of AI, Applied AI Foundations, Google AI Essentials.

Company names and logos belong to their owners and are used only to identify their courses. ApplyAI is independent and is not endorsed by, affiliated with or paid by any provider. Prices and details are as at the check date; confirm on the provider's site.